Freedom

“I am free, no matter what rules surround me. If I find them tolerable, I tolerate them; if I find them too obnoxious, I break them. I am free because I know that I alone am morally responsible for everything I do.”- Robert A. Heinlein
 
Freedom.  That one word carries with it a meaning that goes far beyond what the dictionary defines it as.  The United States of America was founded on the idea of freedom.  This idea that we the people should be able to govern ourselves with as little interference from a central government as possible.
 
Freedom is a dangerous thing.  When you have freedom, you alone are responsible for yourself.  This idea that we are best able to decide how our lives should be lived.  That we citizens should be able to defend ourselves against harm from those that would seek to take our life and liberty from us.  That we are the best arbiter for our own lives.
 
There is often an argument brought up when it comes to the 2nd Amendment and firearms.  The Antis constantly say that they have a right to be safe or children have a right to be safe.  This argument is false and has no standing in reality.  No one has a right to be safe.  The very ideas that this country were founded on, the ideas of life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.  The idea of freedom of the individual means that you have no right to safety.
 
Life is a calculated risk.  Every day that you wake up, crawl out of bed and venture out into the world, you take risks that could end your life.  There are those that believe they can somehow legislate safety.  That by passing laws that do nothing but restrict the rights of citizens, they will somehow be safer.  They are willing to give up their freedom, for this false sense of security and safety.

The idea of freedom scares them.  They can’t see themselves being responsible for the safety of their own lives.  They want someone else to take care of them, to protect them from all the bad things in the world.  They are perfectly willing to give up their rights and the rights of their fellow citizens so that they can feel safe in the world.

 
I myself would rather live with dangerous freedom than to ever give up any rights in the pursuit of that false sense of security and safety.  I understand the risks I take everyday of my life.  I understand that no matter what, I am the only one responsible for myself.  Only I have the ability to protect my life, liberty, and pursuit of happiness.  It is because of the Constitution and the Bill of Rights that I have the freedom to do so. 
 
Thus we come to the crux of the problem.  Those that are scared of freedom want to use force in the form of government to make all others abide by their ideas of safety and security. 

This bearded Texan will never bow to such demands.  As the quote at the beginning says, “if I find them too obnoxious, I break them.”

About Joseph Capdepon II

Bearded, opinionated, writer and lover of all things science fiction, horror or fantasy related. Thank you for reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Freedom

Leave a Reply

