The not so average American’s political ideology

With an election only a month and a few days away, I’ve been going over in my mind where I stand politically.  Republican, Democrat, Left, Right, Conservative, Liberal, Progressive, Libertarian, the list goes on and on.  So many labels and yet none adequately fit me.  I try to think of the average American’s stance on things, and I try to fit myself into that.  I’m not average.  I don’t consider myself average, that does not fit me.  So this is my ideas on politics.  This is what I believe and for the record, I’m voting for Romney in November.

First, I am extremely proud to be a citizen of the United States of America.  I am proud to be a Texan, I have a Texas flag hanging on my wall.  I am proud to be a Southerner.  I have no shame in being a white male.  I don’t care how much melanin is present in your skin.  I judge people by their actions and how they present themselves to society.  I actually judge someone by their character.  So if you present yourself as a thug, ignorant piece of human filth, expect to be treated in that manner.  We are all responsible for our station in life.  You choose to remain ignorant or in poverty and filth.  Stop blaming someone else for your poor life choices, take responsibility and do something about it.  We all make mistakes, but the truly intelligent among us learn from those mistakes and become better members of society because of it.

I am not a Christian but I respect the beliefs of others, so long as they do not try to shove them down my throat. I identify as Asatru, or heathen. I won’t go into why, but it is what calls to me and makes sense to me in this wonderful universe we live in. I have no issues with the sexuality of my fellow Americans. I don’t care who you choose to live or have sex with, as long as it is between two consenting adults. Should homosexuals have all the rights and privileges that straight couples have? Of course. I personally believe that marriage should be an institution of the respective churches and that all adults should get civil unions. You go to the court house, file your papers, swear before a judge and you are done. You have all the rights and privileges. Then later if you want your marriage ceremony in your church of choice, then do so. It is time for everyone to grow up, on both sides of that argument. Quit arguing over the one word, delete that word from the argument and there is no argument. It’s so simple.

I believe that abortion is a terrible thing. Pro-life and pro-choice are terrible labels to use. I am pro-baby. I see abortion as what it is, murder, plain and simple. So spare me your right to do what you want with your body line. What about the rights of the child growing in that womb? Who protects them? How many Einstein’s, Picasso’s, Rembrant’s, Shakespeare’s have been murdered in the womb?

I am an avid supporter of the Second Amendment. I believe that it is the right, no, it is the duty of every able bodied American citizen to own and be proficient with a firearm. Be it a rifle, shotgun, or pistol. I believe it is our right as American citizens to be able to defend ourselves from those that would do us harm, be they criminals or a tyrannical government. The Founding Fathers understood what they were doing when they added this Amendment to the Bill of Rights. I am also one of the crazy types that believes I should be able to own fully automatic weapons without the hassle that currently exists. To rail against the Second Amendment and propose “common sense” legislation is a slap in the face of every law abiding citizen in this country. As we all know, criminals do not obey the law, but gun legislation is not about stopping criminals, it’s about creating a victim class and leaving citizens unable to defend themselves.

I believe that our government should be concerned mostly with two major things. National Defense and keeping the interstate highway system functioning. Most of the organizations, FFA, EPA, FDA, FCC, Department of Education, Department of Energy, and so on, should either be gotten rid of or seriously scaled back. Revert most things back to the states to deal with. Take the current health care debacle. Let the market decide what happens. Remove the restrictions from health insurance companies operating across state lines. There should not be fifty different Blue Cross/Blue Shield companies. There should be one. You want health care costs to go down? Create a climate that will make it happen.

We should be energy independent by now. There should be nuclear plants all across this nation. The natural resources located beneath our soil should be exploited. Companies will sink money into alternate methods of energy production, they do not need government funds to do so, but at the same time, let them exploit what is here. Let them build nuclear plants and refineries. Let the United States of America stand on its own when it comes to oil.

Create an environment that is healthy for people to start businesses in. Reform the outrageous tax code to something that even a high school graduate could understand. Remove restrictions and business will flourish. Stop taxing those that create jobs and create wealth. Let them do what they do best, invest their money in business and make more money. Even this high school graduate with no college education can figure that out.

I believe in a strong military. I think we should be able to stand up to any enemy on this planet and be able to completely and utterly destroy them. We should not care about making anyone on this planet happy. Those that would do us harm should fear what will happen to them and their people if they cross that line. It is time to take the gloves off and wage total and complete war against our enemies. No more hearts and minds. Destroy our enemy and come home. Make them fear us. If the United States government wants to play the empire game, then we really need to play it for keeps.

Cut back on government programs. All of them. Eliminate those that are unnecessary. Again, let the states take over in certain areas. If the various states decide they want to expand welfare and other such programs, then so be it, until the voters in those states elect Representatives who will change it.

All laws passed by Congress shall be no longer than five pages long and should be understood by an average citizen without the help of a team of lawyers.

Crack down on the immigration problem on our borders. Treat the problem as it is. Now this I am sure is going to piss some people off. Those that wish to immigrate to this country shall learn the language. To be a citizen, one should be able to read, write and understand English. No more documents in multiple languages. If you go to a government agency for something, you get one document, in English. No other languages. You can keep your culture and whatever else you want, but it’s time that you assimilate into this nation. Learn the language, adapt the customs.

Stop the War on Drugs, the War on Poverty and so on. Use the resources we have to effectively battle the cartels. Poverty will only change when people are educated. Everyone has the same chance in this country. It is our decisions that effect where we go in life. Education and breaking the cycle of blaming others for one’s own short comings will break the cycle of poverty.

This is just a part of my own personal beliefs. Where do you think I fit in on the scale of political thought? I consider myself to be on the Right, Conservative, Libertarian in some of my ideas. I want a smaller, less intrusive government. I want people to be personally responsible for themselves. I don’t want some idiot from the government telling me how to live my life, what I can or cannot do. I know what is best for me and should be able to choose my own path. If I learn from my mistakes and prosper than great for me. If I fail, then it is on my shoulders and no others. Unfortunately, there are large portions of the populace that do not.

So in the end, this is a bit of what makes up my political thought. I know that no one will agree with me and I really don’t care. I’m tired of being nice. So take from this what you will. After all, it is just one man’s opinion.

 

 

About Joseph Capdepon II

Bearded, opinionated, writer and lover of all things science fiction, horror or fantasy related. Thank you for reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

